Skip to main navigation.

About Lighthouse Electric

Lighthouse Electric Cooperative, Inc., is a non-profit, member-owned rural electric cooperative headquartered in Floydada, Texas, originally organized in 1937 as Floyd County Rural Electric Cooperative. Its original REA loan application was the first to propose serving irrigation wells as part of the project.

By 1953, the cooperative had outgrown its name, and a contest held to choose a new name was won by the member's entry suggesting "Lighthouse" because "the wonderful REA electricity lights up my home like a lighthouse on the plains!"

In 1978, Hall County Electric Cooperative, headquartered in Memphis, Texas, merged with Lighthouse, forming a new cooperative which now operates 4300 miles of line serving 8900 meters in parts of 12 Texas counties including Hale, Floyd, Swisher, Briscoe, Hall, Crosby, Dickens, Motley, Donley, Childress, Collingsworth, and Cottle. Lighthouse is governed by a board of 9 directors elected by the membership from 9 geographic areas of the cooperative. Through their ownership of Lighthouse, members also have an ownership interest in Golden Spread Electric Cooperative, their generation and transmission (G&T) cooperative headquartered in Amarillo, Texas.

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Coop Connections Card Program Energy activity page for kids The voice of America's Electric Cooperatives